Serving Iowa Families Statewide | Se Habla Español
Notice: We remain fully operational during the COVID-19 outbreak. All new consultations are being held via phone and videoconferencing. As heard on iHeart Radio, we are pleased to provide a FREE Health Care Power of Attorney. This legal form allows you to designate a person to make medical decisions in the event you are unable. Please call/text/or live chat us.
people arguing after a car accident

What Happens if a Motorist is Involved in a Car Accident Without Insurance?

The Financial and Safety Responsibility Act of Iowa requires every registered driver to have motor insurance before driving a motor vehicle. Therefore, if you are ever involved in an accident or pulled over without proof of insurance, you can be subjected to fines and license revocations.

Consequences of Car Accidents Without Insurance

Auto insurance is required because it protects motorists from monetary damage in the event of an auto accident. When someone drives while ignoring this payment, they put themselves and others at risk of causing financial harm. Therefore, there are serious penalties for doing so.

Fines

There is a $250 mandatory fine for driving without insurance in Iowa. However, instead of paying this fine, people can opt to do community service time.

Revocation of Driving Privileges

If you are involved in a car accident and do not have insurance, the Department of Transportation (DOT) will suspend your driver’s license and vehicle registration if your accident resulted in:

  • Bodily injury

  • Death

  • Damage of $1,500 or more to the property.

Licenses can be revoked for up to 12 months. Additionally, the suspension of the registration applies even if the owner of the vehicle was not driving during the accident, and can possibly extend to other vehicles registered under that name.

Reinstatement Requirements

To reinstate driving privileges, you have 30 days within the accident report and citation to show proof of active auto insurance to the court, or you can show an SR-22 filed to the DOT by your insurance agent. This SR-22 must be maintained for 2 years with no missed payments or face suspension again.

What To Do If You Are Involved in an Accident With an Uninsured Motorist

If you are involved in an auto accident with a driver without insurance, you might be able to obtain insurance coverage through Uninsured Motorist Protection. However, this doesn’t automatically mean you can make a personal injury claim. In order to determine if you can fight for damages against you in a car accident, it’s crucial to speak to a Des Moines personal injury attorney immediately.

At Hope Law Firm, we will be able to work with you to determine your rights and how to best proceed with making a personal injury claim. We understand how frustrating and harmful it can be when another person’s negligence results in mental, physical, and financial suffering for you. Do not hesitate to contact our Des Moines car accident attorneys today to discuss your rights in your case.

Call our team today at (515) 298-5056 for hope during this difficult time.

Categories